My boring life

I am 30 years old. My husband & I manage a retirement community. It is a great place to work and I truly can say I like my job. Thank goodness because we spend a ton of time working. We work 24 hours a day for 7 straight days. The company gives us an on-site apartment so we can sleep. We open the office at 7:30am and lock up at 9:00pm. There are no real breaks. We eat with the residents & run the building. After our 7 days “on”, we have off for 7 days. It is well worth it. Getting every other week off is the most wonderful thing ever.

 

Because most of my interaction is with 80 & 90 year olds (some of whom are pretty cool), I tend to act a bit older than my age. I go to bed at 9-9:30pm most nights. I cannot stay up past 11pm no matter how hard I try. I prefer knitting & reading to going out. Ha! See? I am boring.

 

I married at the age of 22. I wasn’t much more fun then but perhaps a bit. I was THIN then. Probably too thin but I thought I’d stay that way. I’m not sure why I thought that. I guess because I was young and didn’t know better. My husband calls me innocent. Fast forward 8 years and I’ve gained 25 lbs. Yup…25 lbs in 8 years. If I don’t stop something (or start something?), I may not fit in my car by our 20th wedding anniversary.

 

I don’t worry too much about my weight. Most days I feel good about myself. What is not to love? I have an awesome husband, a home that is beautiful, two working vehicles (and a motorcycle), a great job with awesome benefits, a loving family and everything I need and want. I can say I love my life. But I do wish I were a bit thinner.

 

I have been told that I need to take in less calories than I burn. That makes sense. Of course that is soooo much easier said than done. I don’t do too much on our “on” weeks since I spend most of my time in the office. Nights are usually spent walking the halls between 7:45pm (when we lock the office) to 8:45pm. I have toning shoes (love them but not sure they do anything) and I don’t eat cheeseburgers & fries every day. So, what am I doing wrong?

Leave a Reply

